H.R. No. 1263

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Countless lives were touched by the inspirational
leadership of Bishop J. Neaul Haynes of Dallas, who passed away on
March 9, 2015, at the age of 83; and

WHEREAS, James Neaul Haynes was born in Denton on August 8, 1931, to F. L. and Ola Mae Haynes; he graduated as valedictorian of Fred Moore High School and attended the University of Denver and North Texas State University, where he earned his bachelor's degree; he pursued his graduate studies at Dallas Theological Seminary, and he later received an honorary doctor of laws degree from Texas College; and

11 WHEREAS, Bishop Haynes answered the call to the ministry in 12 1949, and he was ordained in the Church of God in Christ in 1952; over the next 27 years, he served as pastor at a number of churches 13 14 in North Texas, including Open Door Church of God in Christ in Pampa, St. Emmanuel Church of God in Christ in Denison, Jackson 15 Memorial Church of God in Christ in Wichita Falls, and Wheatley 16 Church of God in Christ and Haynes Chapel Church of God in Christ in 17 Dallas; and 18

WHEREAS, In 1979, Bishop Haynes was appointed as pastor of Saintsville Sanctuary Church of God in Christ, and over the course of more than three and a half decades, he wholeheartedly committed his talents and energies to advancing the mission of the congregation; he continued to guide the church up until his death; and

1

1 WHEREAS, In addition to his work with Saintsville Sanctuary, Bishop Haynes contributed to the Church of God in Christ as a member 2 3 of the Texas Northeast Jurisdictional Trustee Board, and he further distinguished himself as administrative assistant 4 tο the 5 jurisdictional bishop and as prelate of the Texas Northeast Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction; at the national level, he served on 6 the Church of God in Christ Trustee Board and General Board, and in 7 8 2007 he was appointed as first assistant presiding bishop; and

H.R. No. 1263

9 WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, Bishop Haynes enjoyed the 10 love and support of his wife, Vivian, with whom he shared many 11 rewarding years of marriage; he was devoted to his children, Pia and 12 Vrai, and he later knew the joy of welcoming into his cherished 13 family four grandchildren, Darius, J. Neaul, Chandler, and D'Aria; 14 and

15 WHEREAS, Over the course of more than six decades in the 16 ministry, this esteemed clergyman exemplified the highest 17 standards of his vocation, and his community of faith will long 18 benefit from his dedicated service; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of James Neaul Haynes 20 21 and extend deepest sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, Vivian Haynes; to his daughters, Pia Haynes Williams and her 22 23 husband, Reginald, and Vrai Haynes Morris; to his grandchildren, 24 Darius Morris, J. Neaul Williams, Chandler Williams, and D'Aria Morris; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it 25 26 further

27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2

H.R. No. 1263 1 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 2 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Bishop J. 3 Neaul Haynes.

Davis of Dallas

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1263

H.R. No. 1263

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1263 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 16, 2015.

Chief Clerk of the House