H.R. No. 1274

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of Preservation Texas are gathering in
- 2 Austin on March 19, 2015, in celebration of Preservation Texas Day
- 3 at the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, Founded in 1985, Preservation Texas advocates for
- 5 the state's historic resources, and it is dedicated to protecting
- 6 our material and cultural heritage, including places, buildings,
- 7 artifacts, and documents; and
- 8 WHEREAS, This noteworthy organization also raises awareness
- 9 of the enormous economic benefits of conserving vital connections
- 10 to the past; a major industry, historic preservation creates jobs,
- 11 including well-paying positions for skilled craftspeople, and
- 12 encourages investment in smaller towns and in the historic
- 13 districts of larger cities; heritage tourism increases revenue
- 14 through higher property values as well as the collection of sales
- 15 taxes and hotel-motel taxes, and in 2013, preservation activities
- 16 in Texas generated more than \$4.6 billion in state gross domestic
- 17 product and sustained over 79,000 jobs; and
- 18 WHEREAS, For three decades, Preservation Texas has united the
- 19 efforts of individuals and organizations devoted to safeguarding a
- 20 priceless heritage for future generations, and its endeavors have
- 21 contributed immeasurably to the vibrancy and prosperity of the Lone
- 22 Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby recognize March 19, 2015, as Preservation Texas

H.R. No. 1274

- 1 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting organization
- 2 members sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay
- 3 in Austin.

Morrison

H.R. No. 1274

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Dale Leach Spitzer Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1274
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1274 wa	s adopted by the House on March
19, 2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House