H.R. No. 1295

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A life dedicated to public service has drawn to a
close with the passing of longtime peace officer Patrick Wierzba of
Leander on March 11, 2015, at the age of 63; and

WHEREAS, Born in Milwaukee to Eugene and Beverly Wierzba, Patrick Wierzba received his education in Wisconsin, earning a master's degree; he began his 38-year career in law enforcement as a member of the Milwaukee Police Department, where he worked for nearly three decades; Mr. Wierzba retired from the department as a member of the command staff at the rank of lieutenant; and

10 WHEREAS, After moving to Texas, Patrick Wierzba served for 11 11 years with the Cedar Park Police Department, where he was the 12 well-respected head of the community services division; Lieutenant 13 Wierzba was active in the Cedar Park Chaplains program, and he and 14 his wife, Monica, were likewise involved in the police department's 15 citizen volunteer program; he retired again in 2013; and

16 WHEREAS, A loving husband and father and an exemplary law 17 officer, Patrick Wierzba leaves behind a record of service and 18 integrity that will continue to inspire all who knew and loved him; 19 now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 21 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Patrick Wierzba and 22 extend sincere condolences to the members of his family: to his 23 wife, Monica Brugh; to his son, Benjamin Wierzba; to his stepson, 24 Corey Brugh; to his grandchildren, Cailyn, Ella, and Tobin; to his

1

H.R. No. 1295 1 sister, Nancy Wierzba; and to his other relatives and many friends; 2 and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 5 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Patrick 6 Wierzba.

Dale

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1295

H.R. No. 1295

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1295 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 18, 2015.

Chief Clerk of the House