H.R. No. 1296

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The tennis team of Kirbyville High School turned in
- 2 a series of outstanding performances during the Vidor Invitational
- 3 Tournament on February 13, 2015; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Wildcats competed against talented opponents
- 5 from other area high schools and clinched championships in two
- 6 events; Raven Stegall paired with Eddie Slaughter to win all of
- 7 their matches and claimed the mixed doubles title with a 6-1, 6-1
- 8 victory in the finals; in boys' doubles, Dennis Leh and Trenton
- 9 Slaughter defeated their foes from Port Neches-Groves High School
- in the title match by a score of 7-6 (7-2), 6-3; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Important contributions were also made by the other
- 12 members of the Kirbyville team, including Jarrod Brooks and Colton
- 13 Newman, who finished in second place in varsity B doubles
- 14 competition; Johnathan Clark took second in boys' singles, and Emma
- 15 Hughes and Bradley Bush were the runners-up in mixed doubles;
- 16 moreover, each of the players benefited from the essential guidance
- 17 and inspiration provided by coach Dianna Caston; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The 2015 Wildcats tennis team is continuing the
- 19 Kirbyville High tradition of athletic excellence, and these
- 20 determined competitors may take great pride in the skill and
- 21 dedication that they have demonstrated throughout the season; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate the Kirbyville High School tennis

H.R. No. 1296

- 1 team on its success at the 2015 Vidor Invitational Tournament and
- 2 extend to the team's players and coaches sincere best wishes for the
- 3 future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

White of Tyler

H.R. No. 1296

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1296 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House