H.R. No. 1299

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. William Huie, retired chair of the Department of
- 2 Communication and Media at Texas A&M University--Corpus Christi,
- 3 has been named professor emeritus by The Texas A&M University
- 4 System Board of Regents; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Emeritus status is conferred on select former
- 6 faculty members and administrators in recognition of their
- 7 significant contributions to the educational community; many of
- 8 these distinguished educators continue to serve the university
- 9 during their retirement; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Dr. Huie joined the A&M--Corpus Christi faculty in
- 11 1974 and played a key role in the Department of Communication and
- 12 Media, developing four-year programs in communications,
- 13 television, music, art, and theater; he also served for more than 20
- 14 years as president of the University Film Foundation and the
- 15 University Film and Video Association, and he has helped bring
- 16 independent film screenings to the area through his collaboration
- 17 with members of the community; after a tenure that spanned nearly
- 18 four decades, he retired from the university in 2011; and
- WHEREAS, Through his myriad endeavors in behalf of Texas A&M
- 20 University--Corpus Christi, Dr. Bill Huie has contributed
- 21 immeasurably to advancing the mission of that school, and he is
- 22 indeed deserving of this most recent accolade; now, therefore, be
- 23 it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

H.R. No. 1299

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Bill Huie on his designation as
- 2 professor emeritus at Texas A&M University--Corpus Christi and
- 3 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success and
- 4 happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Dr. Huie as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 1299

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1299 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House