H.R. No. 1338

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of the State of Texas 2 is pleased to recognize Catherine Stone, who has been selected for 3 induction on March 21, 2015, into the San Antonio Women's Hall of 4 Fame for her outstanding work and leadership in law; and

5 WHEREAS, Since 1984, the San Antonio Women's Hall of Fame 6 annually honors those women who have contributed significantly to 7 the San Antonio community and the Bexar County region through their 8 accomplishments in their profession or field of service; and

9 WHEREAS, Catherine Stone began her legal career in San 10 Antonio as a graduate of St. Mary's University School of Law and by 11 serving as a briefing attorney to the Fourth Court of Appeals, a 12 court that she would later lead as Chief Justice; and

WHEREAS, She has practiced trial and appellate law in San Antonio her entire life until her appointment to be a judge on the Fourth Court of Appeals in 1994; she was elected to that court three times to serve six-year terms on the court, and in 2008 she was elected Chief Justice of the Court; and

WHEREAS, While on the court, she wrote thousands of legal opinions, and under her leadership as the Chief Justice, the Fourth Court of Appeals was widely recognized as the most efficient and innovative court in the state and she was frequently and widely recognized as a wise and able mentor to all members of the legal profession, including the young women beginning the practice of law; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1338

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the State of 2 Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend Catherine Stone for her 3 exceptional achievements and extend congratulations to her on her 4 induction into the San Antonio Women's Hall of Fame; and, be it 5 further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for her as an expression of high regard and esteem by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Martinez Fischer

H.R. No. 1338

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1338 was adopted by the House on March 18, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House