H.R. No. 1409

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the theatrical design teams from high
- 2 schools in Warren and Woodville have achieved an outstanding level
- 3 of success in recent district and regional University
- 4 Interscholastic League (UIL) competitions; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The most comprehensive literary and academic
- 6 contest in the nation, UIL activities motivate the more than half a
- 7 million participating students to acquire further knowledge and
- 8 skills by providing them with opportunities to demonstrate their
- 9 mastery of specific disciplines; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In 2015, students from Warren High School and
- 11 Woodville High School performed admirably in the UIL theatrical
- 12 design competition, with teams from both schools advancing to the
- 13 state competition; and
- 14 WHEREAS, In addition to group success, each school had
- 15 individual winners; from Warren High School, Bailee Ryals qualified
- 16 to move on to the state meet for her costume design, and Britteny
- 17 Akines qualified in the costuming, hair and makeup, and set
- 18 categories; Justin Livingston and Kelsey Hensarling from Woodville
- 19 High School also qualified for state in the set category; and
- 20 WHEREAS, These exceptional young theater students may take
- 21 special pride in their success in the UIL competition, and their
- 22 accomplishments are indeed worthy of special recognition; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

H.R. No. 1409

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate theatrical design students from
- 2 Warren High School and Woodville High School on advancing to the UIL
- 3 state meet and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 6 for Warren and Woodville High Schools as an expression of high
- 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

White of Tyler

H.R	. No.	1409

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1409 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House