H.R. No. 1431

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Sylvia Hopp can take well-deserved pride in the 2 outstanding service she has rendered to the residents of her 3 community during her three-year tenure as superintendent of the San 4 Elizario Independent School District; and

5 WHEREAS, A veteran educator with 40 years of experience, 6 Ms. Hopp earned her bachelor's degree in education and her master's 7 degree in educational administration from The University of Texas at 8 El Paso; she began her career as a special education teacher for the 9 El Paso Independent School District, where she later served as 10 assistant principal, principal, instructional consultant, director 11 of elementary personnel, and executive director; and

WHEREAS, Before becoming superintendent, she worked for San Elizario ISD as principal at Alarcon and Borrego Elementary Schools and as assistant superintendent for planning and instruction; she went on to act as the district's interim superintendent before being appointed superintendent on December 14, 2011, and assuming her duties on January 2, 2012; and

WHEREAS, Through her unwavering commitment to San Elizario ISD students and staff, Sylvia Hopp has led the way in fostering a supportive and challenging educational environment, one that gives students a vision of what they might attain if they strive for success and that equips them with skills that will help them to build fulfilling and productive lives; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

1

H.R. No. 1431

Legislature hereby honor Sylvia Hopp, superintendent of the San
Elizario Independent School District, for her admirable service to
her fellow citizens and extend to her sincere best wishes for the
future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Ms. Hopp as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

González

H.R. No. 1431

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1431 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House