H.R. No. 1437

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Ross Wallace will be retiring as chief of the 2 Universal City Fire Department in January 2016, drawing to a close a 3 notable career as a first responder that has spanned more than four 4 decades; and

5 WHEREAS, After joining the department as a volunteer in 1974, 6 Chief Wallace became a full-time professional firefighter the 7 following year; he attended Texas A&M University's firefighter 8 training school in 1975 and the Alamo Area Regional Law Enforcement 9 Academy at San Antonio College in 1980, and he holds an associate's 10 degree in fire science; he has led the Universal City Fire 11 Department as chief since April 1981; and

12 WHEREAS, Chief Wallace earned his certification as an 13 emergency medical technician from the Texas Department of State 14 Health Services in 1980, and he has been certified as a master arson 15 investigator and a master firefighter by the Texas Commission on 16 Fire Protection; he has served on the Combined Emergency Services 17 Organization board since 1979 and on the Protective Service Fire 18 Science Advisory Board for over 20 years; and

WHEREAS, Ross Wallace's dedication, professionalism, and commitment to protecting the safety and welfare of the public have greatly benefited the citizens of Universal City and earned him the respect and admiration of his fellow firefighters, and he may indeed reflect with pride on a career well spent as he prepares to embark upon the next exciting chapter of his life; now, therefore,

1

H.R. No. 1437

1 be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 3 Legislature hereby commend Chief Ross Wallace for his years of 4 outstanding service to the Universal City Fire Department and 5 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success and 6 happiness; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Chief Wallace as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Farias

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1437

H.R. No. 1437

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1437 was adopted by the House on March 25, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House