H.R. No. 1458

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Buna High School boys' powerlifting team
- 2 distinguished itself by capturing runner-up honors at the Buna
- 3 Powerlifting Meet on February 12, 2015; and
- WHEREAS, Ably guided by coach Cory Harrison, the Cougars
- 5 faced off against talented lifters from five different area high
- 6 schools at the event; Cade Pellerin came out on top in the 132-pound
- 7 weight class with a lift total of 655 pounds, and teammate Arthur
- 8 Watson put up 1,080 pounds to claim the 148-pound title; moreover,
- 9 Ty Tamplin placed first in the 220-pound division after clearing an
- 10 impressive 1,605 pounds; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Important contributions were also made by the other
- 12 members of the Cougars squad, with Nick Rhame finishing as
- 13 runner-up in the 242-pound weight class, Cole Briseno placing
- 14 second in the 132-pound division, and Justin Miller and Ethan
- 15 Harding each capturing fifth place in the 220-pound and 148-pound
- 16 classes, respectively; moreover, Tommy Jones took home third-place
- 17 honors for his performance in the SHW weight class, and Trace
- 18 Compton was seventh among the 148-pound contenders; and
- 19 WHEREAS, With their exemplary efforts, these talented
- 20 student-athletes have continued the Buna High School tradition of
- 21 athletic excellence, and they may take great pride in the skill and
- 22 dedication that they have demonstrated throughout the season; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

H.R. No. 1458

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the Buna High School powerlifting
- 2 team on its success at the 2015 Buna Powerlifting Meet and extend to
- 3 the team's lifters and coaches sincere best wishes for the future;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

White of Tyler

H.R. No. 1458

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1458 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House