H.R. No. 1468

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Lee and Susan Gammill of Marble Falls were honored 2 for their outstanding philanthropy by the Polycystic Kidney Disease 3 Foundation at its second annual Gratitude Benefit in Dallas on 4 February 28, 2015; and

5 WHEREAS, Entitled "Gratitude: A Celebratory Benefit for the 6 PKD Foundation," the event raised money to fight PKD and recognized 7 the Gammills and other individuals, families, and institutions for 8 their support in finding a cure; and

9 WHEREAS, This genetic condition causes clusters of cysts on 10 the kidneys, eventually leading to loss of function; PKD is often 11 inherited, and Mr. Gammill, his grandfather, his father, and his 12 brother have all been diagnosed with the disease; and

13 WHEREAS, Mr. Gammill's father, John Gammill, was an original 14 board member of what is now the PKD Foundation, and Mr. Gammill 15 himself has been involved with the organization for three decades; 16 and

WHEREAS, The family has endowed the John Gammill Professor in Polycystic Kidney Disease at the Oklahoma University Health Sciences Center, and Mr. Gammill has continued to provide additional support to the PKD Foundation; he also helped to encourage the U.S. Congress to pass the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act in 2008; and

WHEREAS, Along with the active support of his wife, Susan,
Lee Gammill has been a leader in the fight against this disease, and

1

H.R. No. 1468 1 the couple's commitment to this worthy cause indeed merits special 2 recognition; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 4 Legislature hereby honor Lee and Susan Gammill for their 5 outstanding efforts in behalf of the PKD Foundation and commend 6 them for their dedication and generosity; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Gammill as an expression of high regard
by the Texas House of Representatives.

Farney

2

H.R. No. 1468

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1468 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House