H.R. No. 1509

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Zavala County are gathering in
- 2 Austin on April 7, 2015, to celebrate Zavala County Day at the State
- 3 Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, Situated in the Winter Garden region of South Texas,
- 5 Zavala County covers nearly 1,300 square miles of fertile plains
- 6 and wild brushland and is bisected by the Nueces River; the county
- 7 was created by the First Legislature of Texas in 1846 and named for
- 8 Lorenzo de Zavala, a Mexican colonist and signer of the Texas
- 9 Declaration of Independence; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The economy is supported by livestock and grain,
- 11 fruit, and vegetable farming; hunting and fishing opportunities
- 12 abound, and notable communities include the county seat, Crystal
- 13 City, and La Pryor and Batesville; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Crystal City was laid out in 1905 and named for the
- 15 clear waters of a nearby artesian well; by 1908, the town had a post
- 16 office, a school, and a stop on the Uvalde Railway, and in 1928, it
- 17 was named the county seat; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The city is a hub for farming, ranching, and food
- 19 processing, with the Del Monte Corporation cannery contributing to
- 20 the economy of the region; self-styled as the Spinach Capital of the
- 21 World, the city holds a Spinach Festival that draws tens of
- 22 thousands of visitors every November with such activities as a
- 23 cook-off, a carnival and parade, and musical performances; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich and colorful history as they

H.R. No. 1509

- 1 work together to build a bright future, the citizens of Zavala
- 2 County may take justifiable pride in the important role their
- 3 unique region continues to play in the story of the Lone Star State;
- 4 now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby recognize April 7, 2015, as Zavala County Day at
- 7 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
- 8 best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

King of Uvalde

## H.R. No. 1509

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Dale Leach Spitzer Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

				H.R.	No.	1509
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
		Speaker of the House				
I certify that H.R. No. 1	1509 was	adopted :	by the	House	on .	April
7, 2015, by a non-record vote.						
				2 2 2 3 8 8		
		Chief	Clerk	of the	Hou	se