H.R. No. 1512

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On April 13, 2015, members of the Sikh community are 2 coming together in Texas and around the world to celebrate 3 Vaisakhi, one of the most important dates on the Sikh calendar; and

WHEREAS, Sikhism is the fifth-largest religion in the world, with more than 25 million adherents, including an estimated 700,000 in the United States; the majority of Sikhs live in the Punjab province of India, in the region where the religion was founded in the 15th century by Guru Nanak Dev; and

9 WHEREAS, A monotheistic faith, Sikhism teaches respect for 10 all people, regardless of race, religion, gender, or background; it 11 stresses the importance of doing good in the world and 12 demonstrating such positive values as humility, diligence, 13 generosity, and self-sacrifice in daily life; and

14 WHEREAS, Vaisakhi celebrates the founding in 1699 of the 15 devout Sikh fellowship known as the Khalsa; Guru Gobind Singh 16 bestowed on all Khalsa men the surname Singh, meaning "lion," as a 17 reminder to be courageous, and women accepted the surname Kaur, or 18 "princess," to emphasize dignity; and

WHEREAS, The first Sikhs came to the United States in the 1890s to build railroads, work on California farms, or labor in the lumber mills of the Pacific Northwest; since then, Sikh Americans in all walks of life have contributed to the social, cultural, and economic vibrancy of the United States; and

24 WHEREAS, The festival of Vaisakhi presents an ideal

1

1 opportunity to affirm the belief in justice, equality, and freedom 2 that is cherished by all Americans and by Sikhs the world over; now, 3 therefore, be it

4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 5 Legislature hereby commemorate the festival of Vaisakhi and extend 6 to all Sikh Texans sincere best wishes for a meaningful and 7 memorable observance.

Turner of Harris

H.R. No. 1512

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1512

H.R. No. 1512

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1512 was adopted by the House on April 13, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House