H.R. No. 1545

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Veterans of Foreign Wars Post No. 76 in San Antonio
is hosting a ceremony on March 28, 2015, in recognition of Vietnam
Veterans Day; and

WHEREAS, One of the oldest posts in the Lone Star State, VFW Post No. 76 annually marks this observance, which commemorates the anniversary of the withdrawal of U.S. armed forces from Vietnam on March 29, 1973; and

WHEREAS, Members of the U.S. armed forces were initially sent 8 9 to South Vietnam in an advisory capacity in 1961; the first American ground combat units arrived there in 1965, 10 and by 1969 11 approximately 543,000 U.S. troops were serving in that country; by 12 the time the war ended in April 1975, more than three million Americans had seen duty in Southeast Asia; and 13

WHEREAS, The Vietnam War claimed the lives of more than 58,000 members of the U.S. armed forces, including over 3,400 Texans; more than 2,500 American servicemen were taken prisoner, and an estimated 3,000 to 6,000 were counted as missing in action; and

WHEREAS, Americans owe a lasting debt of gratitude and remembrance to the men and women who served this country in Vietnam, and this event pays fitting tribute to those military personnel for their brave and steadfast efforts and immeasurable sacrifice in one of the most difficult wars in this nation's history; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1545

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the Vietnam Veterans Day 3 celebration at VFW Post No. 76 in San Antonio and extend to the 4 event's organizers and participants sincere best wishes for a 5 meaningful and memorable observance; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for VFW Post No. 76 as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Martinez Fischer

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1545

H.R. No. 1545

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1545 was adopted by the House on March 25, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House