H.R. No. 1547

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Army Marathon III was held on March 1, 2015,
- 2 furthering its reputation as one of the premier athletic charity
- 3 events in the Killeen/Temple/Fort Hood area; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Created in 2013 to honor the men and women of the
- 5 United States armed services, The Army Marathon is a nonprofit
- 6 event that raises funds to benefit active-duty personnel, veterans,
- 7 and their families; through the various races and other events
- 8 associated with the marathon, organizers provide financial support
- 9 to a variety of worthwhile groups, including the Military Child
- 10 Education Coalition, the Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors,
- 11 and Scott & White Military Homefront Services; and
- WHEREAS, This year's marathon, half-marathon, and 5K races
- 13 drew 1,500 runners and walkers who ranged in age from 13 to 84 and
- 14 hailed from some 40 U.S. states and other locations around the
- 15 world; more than 500 volunteers and contractors helped ensure the
- 16 event was a success, including representatives from Junior ROTC
- 17 groups, civic associations, businesses, and veterans
- 18 organizations; moreover, mayors, city council members, and city
- 19 managers from area municipalities helped with coordinating the
- 20 marathon; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Valuable assistance was also offered by medical
- 22 professionals from Baylor Scott & White, as well as by personnel
- 23 from the Central Texas Council of Governments and surrounding fire
- 24 and EMS departments; peace officers from Killeen, Harker Heights,

H.R. No. 1547

- 1 Belton, Temple, the Bell County Sheriff's Office, and the Texas
- 2 Department of Public Safety helped to maintain a secure and safe
- 3 environment for all involved; and
- WHEREAS, In keeping with the marathon's name, a number of
- 5 participants and volunteers were active military personnel or
- 6 veterans, and the race serves as a tribute to the heroic and
- 7 selfless efforts of our men and women in uniform; and
- 8 WHEREAS, By honoring the rich military heritage of the United
- 9 States and raising money to assist those who have served, The Army
- 10 Marathon III is an outstanding Central Texas event, and all those
- 11 who played a part in the race may reflect with pride on a job well
- 12 done; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby recognize the participants, volunteers, civic
- 15 leaders, and public servants who helped make The Army Marathon III a
- 16 success and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future.

White of Bell

H.R. No. 1547

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Dale Leach Spitzer Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Farrar Vo Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

									п.к.	NO.	154/
						Speaker of the House					
	I certify	that	H.R. No.	1547	was	adopted	by -	the	House	on i	March
26,	2015, by a no	on-rec	ord vote.	•							
						Chief	Cle	erk (of the	Hou	se