H.R. No. 1555

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, First Responder Legislative Day is taking place at 2 the State Capitol on March 25, 2015, and this occasion provides an

3 opportunity to reflect on the courageous efforts of these admirable

4 public servants; and

5 WHEREAS, The second-oldest monument on the grounds of the

6 State Capitol is the Volunteer Firemen memorial, and it serves as a

7 moving tribute to the valorous service of all firefighters and

8 other emergency response personnel; erected by the State Firemen's

9 Association of Texas in 1896, the bronze statue portrays a fireman

10 carrying a frightened child in his left arm while holding a lantern

11 in his right hand; and

13

12 WHEREAS, The granite base of the monument is inscribed with

the names of Texas volunteer firefighters who lost their lives in

14 the line of duty, and on this day, 21 fallen heroes are being added

15 to the list: Chief Charles "Ted" Richardson of the Alvarado

16 Volunteer Fire Department, Gregory Mack Simmons of the Eastland

17 Fire Department, Elias Macias Jaquez of the Cactus Fire Department,

18 Larry Gale Nelson of the Val Verde County Rural Volunteer Fire

19 Department, Matt Waller of the Memphis Fire Department, Mark

20 Shepherd of the Rosehill Volunteer Fire Department, William Richard

21 "Dick" Danes of the Brazos County Precinct 3 Fire Department,

22 Captain Neal Wade Smith of the Atascocita Volunteer Fire

23 Department, Jalen Smith of the Jackson Heights Volunteer Fire

24 Department, Assistant Chief David Fox of the Bluebonnet Volunteer

H.R. No. 1555

- 1 Fire Department, Donald Mize of the League City Volunteer Fire
- 2 Department, Jerry Chapman and Captain Cyrus Reed of the Abbott
- 3 Volunteer Fire Department, Kevin Sanders of the Bruceville-Eddy
- 4 Volunteer Fire Department, Perry Calvin of the Martens Volunteer
- 5 Fire Department, Morris Bridges, Cody Dragoo, Joseph Pustejovsky,
- 6 Captain Douglas Snokhous, and Captain Robert Snokhous of the West
- 7 Volunteer Fire Department, and Chief Hugh Ferguson of the Damon
- 8 Volunteer Fire Department; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Every hour of every day, the first responders of
- 10 Texas stand ready to come to the aid of their fellow citizens, and
- 11 these dedicated men and women are truly deserving of our heartfelt
- 12 praise and gratitude; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby commemorate First Responder Legislative Day at
- 15 the State Capitol and pay tribute to the service of the first
- 16 responders of Texas, both past and present.

Springer Kacal Simpson

H.R. No. 1555

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Dale Leach Spitzer Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1555
-	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1555 was	adopted by the House on March
25, 2015, by a non-record vote.	
_	

Chief Clerk of the House