H.R. No. 1559

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Chris Gomez began serving the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo
- 2 on the tribal council as lieutenant governor on December 31, 2014;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, Dedicated to the mission of the council, Mr. Gomez
- 5 brings to his new position extensive knowledge of federal Indian
- 6 policy and nation-building principles; he served as a tribal
- 7 council member from 2009 to 2011, and he previously served as
- 8 empowerment director, with responsibility for the Pueblo's
- 9 workforce development and education programs; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Mr. Gomez has also benefited the tribe as a planner
- 11 for the Pueblo's Economic Development Department, and he gained
- 12 valuable experience as a planning assistant in the Office of the
- 13 Vice President of Research and Development at El Paso Community
- 14 College; moreover, he has served on the board of Tigua
- 15 Incorporated, the Pueblo's for-profit development corporation, and
- 16 he is a former president of the board of the Pueblo's Tigua
- 17 Community Foundation; and
- WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas at El Paso,
- 19 Mr. Gomez completed his bachelor's degree in political science cum
- 20 laude; he was inducted into the Pi Sigma Alpha political science
- 21 honor society; and
- WHEREAS, Chris Gomez has demonstrated exceptional dedication
- 23 to the betterment of the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo community, and it is
- 24 indeed fitting to recognize his outstanding contributions; now,

H.R. No. 1559

- 1 therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby honor Chris Gomez for his service as lieutenant
- 4 governor on the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo Tribal Council and extend to
- 5 him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- $7\,\,$  prepared for Mr. Gomez as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

González

H.R. No. 1559

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1559 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House