H.R. No. 1563

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dow Texas Operations, the Dow Chemical Company 2 manufacturing site in Freeport, is celebrating the 75th anniversary 3 of its creation in 2015; and

WHEREAS, Wanting to expand its operations to the U.S. Gulf 4 5 Coast, the Dow Chemical Company began scouting a number of locations from New Orleans to Brownsville in the late 1930s; 6 7 Freeport stood out among the competition because of its proximity to a harbor, natural gas reserves, and seawater, from which the 8 9 company planned to extract magnesium; the company bought 800 acres of land bordering Freeport Harbor on March 7, 1940, and started 10 11 building its first plant soon after; and

WHEREAS, In the 75 years since its establishment, Dow Texas Operations has grown to be the largest integrated petrochemical manufacturing complex in the world; spanning 7,000 acres and employing more than 8,000 people, the Freeport site manufactures 44 percent of Dow products sold in the United States and over 21 percent of Dow products sold globally and serves as a major economic engine for Brazoria County and for the entire Lone Star State; and

WHEREAS, Many factors have contributed to the success of Dow Texas Operations, but none have been more critical than the dedicated people who have worked at the site and the state and community partners who have made Texas a great place to do business; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

1

H.R. No. 1563

Legislature hereby commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Dow
Chemical Company manufacturing site in Freeport and extend to all
those associated with the enterprise sincere best wishes for
continued success; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Dow Texas Operations as an expression of high regard by 7 the Texas House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 1563

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1563 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House