H.R. No. 1593

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For 175 years, families have come together to
celebrate their faith at Columbia United Methodist Church in West
Columbia; and

WHEREAS, The church was first organized as a Methodist 4 5 Society by the Reverend Isaac L. G. Strickland in 1839, and it was formally established on March 7 of the following year; considered 6 7 the oldest Methodist congregation in Brazoria County, it first occupied a brick building, and a subsequent frame structure was 8 replaced by the present brick sanctuary in 1958; in 1984, the church 9 was honored with an official state historical marker by the Texas 10 11 Historical Commission; and

12 WHEREAS, Over the years, the church has continued to 13 flourish; the building was renovated and beautiful stained-glass 14 windows were installed in the 1990s, and later, a large fellowship 15 hall, kitchen, and new offices were added; in recent decades, the 16 congregation has expanded its community outreach programs as well; 17 and

18 WHEREAS, Columbia United Methodist has benefited from the 19 able leadership of many dedicated pastors, and today, that 20 tradition of service continues under the direction of Dr. Michael 21 Deaton; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception, Columbia United Methodist Church has served as a source of inspiration and guidance to those who worship there, and its continued existence is a tribute to the

1

1 unwavering commitment of its members, both past and present; now, 2 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby commemorate the 175th anniversary of Columbia United Methodist Church and extend to its congregation sincere best wishes for many more years of shared prayer and fellowship; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 1593

H.R. No. 1593

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1593 was adopted by the House on April 14, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House