H.R. No. 1609

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Wiley College debate team of Marshall won the 2 2014 Pi Kappa Delta Comprehensive National Tournament in March, and 3 this achievement indeed merits special recognition; and WHEREAS, Composed of 23 first- and second-year students, the 4 5 team competed with the best debaters from 80 colleges universities at the largest Pi Kappa Delta tournament ever held; 6 7 after the winning totals were calculated, Wiley College emerged on top with 60 awards; this was an impressive finish to a season that 8 included 373 tournament wins and several exhibition debates; and 9 WHEREAS, The Wiley College debate team has grown out of a rich 10 11 and storied past; the historically black college was founded in 12 1873 and is one of the oldest west of the Mississippi River; the original debate team, which formed when Coach Melvin B. Tolson came 13 14 to the college in 1924, was not allowed to join Pi Kappa Delta, the national forensics fraternity; nonetheless, they continued to 15 16 compete and in 1935 won a debate against the University of Southern California, that year's Pi Kappa Delta national champions; and 17 18 WHEREAS, After Coach Tolson left the college in 1947, the debate team disbanded; 60 years later, interest was revived when 19 Denzel Washington directed and acted in The Great Debaters, which 20 21 brought the drama of the 1935 debate team to the silver screen; Mr. Washington later donated \$1 million to Wiley College, and the 22 23 school's debate team was reestablished and named the Melvin B.

Tolson/Denzel Washington Forensics Society; and

24

H.R. No. 1609

- 1 WHEREAS, Under the guidance of Coach Chris Medina, the 2014
- 2 team truly earned the title of "The Great Debaters" over the course
- 3 of their notable season, which also included winning the tournament
- 4 at the Junior Varsity National Championships; they dedicated their
- 5 Pi Kappa Delta victory to Coach Tolson's teams from 1924 to 1947;
- 6 and
- 7 WHEREAS, The talented young men and women of the Wiley
- 8 College 2014 debate team have demonstrated outstanding skill and
- 9 dedication, and they are a source of great pride to their families
- 10 and school; now, therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate the Wiley College debate team on
- 13 winning the 2014 Pi Kappa Delta Comprehensive National Tournament
- 14 and extend to the members and Coach Medina sincere best wishes for
- 15 the future; and, be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 18 House of Representatives.

Paddie

H.R. No. 1609

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1609
-	
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1609 was	adopted by the House on April
23, 2015, by a non-record vote.	
<u>-</u>	Chief Clerk of the House