H.R. No. 1611

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas Historical Commission received a
Preservation Merit Award from Preservation Austin in November 2014;
and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1953, Preservation Austin is a nationally recognized organization devoted to promoting the Capital City's diverse legacy through the protection of historic places; each year, the group presents awards to honor individuals and institutions for their visionary approach to preservation and their commitment to maintaining Austin's architectural, cultural, and environmental inheritance; and

11 WHEREAS, In 2014, Preservation Austin awarded the Texas 12 Historical Commission a Preservation Merit Award for its stewardship of five historic buildings in the Capitol Complex: the 13 14 Carrington-Covert House, the Christianson-Leberman Building, Gethsemane Lutheran Church, Luther Hall, and the Elrose Apartment 15 16 Building; home to the commission's Austin-based staff and programs, these local landmarks date back to as early as the 1850s; and 17

WHEREAS, Since 2008, the Texas Historical Commission has undertaken a series of rehabilitation and restoration projects that have been carried out by local craftspeople in accordance with the highest standards of conservation; the commission's dedication to safeguarding the buildings ensures their continued existence in the face of increasing pressure to develop the area surrounding the State Capitol; and

1

H.R. No. 1611

1 WHEREAS, These five historically significant buildings serve 2 as a reminder of Austin's rich history, and the Texas Historical 3 Commission is indeed deserving of recognition for its efforts to 4 preserve our heritage; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 6 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Historical Commission on 7 its receipt of a 2014 Preservation Merit Award from Preservation 8 Austin and extend to all those associated with the agency sincere 9 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the commission as an expression of high regard by the 12 Texas House of Representatives.

> Naishtat Howard

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1611

H.R. No. 1611

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1611 was adopted by the House on April 23, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House