H.R. No. 1657

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On March 29, 2014, Vietnam Veterans Day, citizens, 2 veterans, and Texas leaders gathered on the Capitol grounds for the 3 dedication of the Texas Capitol Vietnam Veterans Monument; and WHEREAS, The monument stands as a permanent tribute to the 4 5 service and sacrifice of the thousands of Texans who took part in the Vietnam War; more than 3,400 brave servicemen from Texas made 6 the ultimate sacrifice in the war, and 105 Texans remain missing in 7 action today; seventeen Texas heroes earned the Congressional Medal 8 of Honor for their distinguished service during the conflict; and 9 WHEREAS, Construction of the monument was authorized by the 10 11 passage of House Concurrent Resolution 36 during the 79th 12 Legislative Session, and the project was completed through the 13 diligent work of the Texas Capitol Vietnam Veterans Monument 14 Committee; and

15 WHEREAS, The monument sits in the dappled shade of the 16 Capitol's northeast lawn, where visitors can reflect on and honor 17 every Texan who courageously served during one of the longest wars 18 in American history; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
Legislature hereby commend all who contributed to the planning of
the Texas Capitol Vietnam Veterans Monument and organized its
dedication one year ago and pay tribute to the patriotic sons and
daughters of the Lone Star State who served in the Vietnam War; and,

24 be it further

H.R. No. 1657

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for the Texas Capitol Vietnam Veterans Monument Committee
- 3 as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 4 Representatives.

Smith

## H.R. No. 1657

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

						H.R.	No.	1657
						-1 1 1 1 1		
			Speaker of the House					
	I certify that H.R. No. 1657	was	adopted	by	the	House	e on	March
30,	2015, by a non-record vote.							
			Chief	C1	erk	of the	е Ноі	ıse