H.R. No. 1685

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Masons from across Texas are assembling at the State
- 2 Capitol to celebrate Masonic Grand Lodge of Texas Day on April 8,
- 3 2015; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Following the Texas Revolution, a group of
- 5 Freemasons gathered in Houston in December 1837 to found the Grand
- 6 Lodge of the Republic of Texas; since then, the Texas Grand Lodge
- 7 has remained a constant and enduring presence in the Lone Star
- 8 State, with a tradition of leadership and service that has been
- 9 continued by each new generation of members; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The organization benefits from the able guidance of
- 11 the 2015 grand master, Dr. Michael L. Wiggins, who earned his
- 12 bachelor's, master's, and Ph.D. from Texas A&M University and is
- 13 president of an international oil and gas consulting firm; since
- 14 becoming a Mason in 1978, he has served the Grand Lodge in many key
- 15 roles, and he received the honorary 33rd Degree of the Scottish Rite
- 16 in 2005; and
- 17 WHEREAS, The other officers of the Texas lodge are Thomas W.
- 18 Ellison, Tommy D. Guest, James L. Kessler, Pierre G. Normand Jr.,
- 19 Scott L. Mills, Lawrence E. Tucker, Don Paul Payton, Donald R.
- 20 Sudduth, Bradley S. Billings, Ronald E. Lawrence, Barry D. Brunk
- 21 Sr., Jeffrey K. Haven, and Kenneth C. Curry; notable Masons can also
- 22 be found in the Texas Legislature, including Representatives Drew
- 23 Darby, DeWayne Burns, John Raney, and Doug Miller and Senators Troy
- 24 Fraser and John Whitmire; and

H.R. No. 1685

- 1 WHEREAS, The Grand Lodge of Texas encompasses a number of
- 2 long-standing local lodges; among these, seven are celebrating
- 3 their centennial in 2015, namely the Army No. 1105, New Braunfels
- 4 1109, McAllen 1110, Fraternity 1111, Broaddus 1112, Southside 1114,
- 5 and Richards 1116; additionally, the Washington 1117, Texas City
- 6 1118, and Zanderson 1120 lodges are marking their 100th anniversary
- 7 in 2016; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Throughout the organization's long and
- 9 distinguished history, the members of the Grand Lodge of Texas have
- 10 sought to banish ignorance, promote peace, and relieve distress,
- 11 and in so doing, they have made innumerable contributions to the
- 12 Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby recognize April 8, 2015, as Masonic Grand Lodge
- 15 of Texas Day at the State Capitol and commend all those involved for
- 16 their civic engagement; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for the Masonic Grand Lodge of Texas as an expression of
- 19 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Darby

H.R. No. 1685

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Guillen Paul Alonzo Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Bernal Hunter Reynolds Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

			H.R.	No.	1685
		peaker of	the Ho	ouse	
I certify that H.R. No.	1685 was adopt	ed by the	House	on	April
8, 2015, by a non-record vote.					

Chief Clerk of the House