H.R. No. 1686

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Pharmacists from across the state are gathering in
- 2 Austin on April 8, 2015, in celebration of Texas Pharmacy Day at the
- 3 State Capitol; and
- 4 WHEREAS, In Texas, the pharmacy profession has a long
- 5 history; the 16th-century explorer Alvar Nuñez Cabeza de Vaca
- 6 combined his knowledge of European medicine with information about
- 7 remedies learned from Native Americans, and as early as 1682,
- 8 Spanish missionaries in El Paso dispensed medicines; eventually,
- 9 some colonial doctors prepared medicines in large quantities and
- 10 displayed them on shelves in their homes or offices; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The first permanent organization of Texas
- 12 pharmacists, the Texas State Pharmaceutical Association, was
- 13 founded in Dallas in 1879; known today as the Texas Pharmacy
- 14 Association, the TPA continues to serve members practicing in all
- 15 areas of the profession; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Highly trained health care providers, pharmacists
- 17 serve as specialists in the management and effective use of
- 18 medications, and in recent years, they have played an increasingly
- 19 prominent role in counseling patients on the safe and effective use
- 20 of prescription medications; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The knowledge and experience of pharmacists is vital
- 22 to the well-being of their fellow Texans, and it is indeed fitting
- 23 to honor distinguished members of this profession for their
- 24 dedication to advancing the quality of health care in the Lone Star

H.R. No. 1686

- 1 State; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize April 8, 2015, as Texas Pharmacy Day
- 4 at the State Capitol and extend to all those participating sincere
- 5 best wishes for an informative and enjoyable event.

Hunter

H.R. No. 1686

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Paul Alonzo Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Bernal Hunter Reynolds Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Burkett Keffer Romero, Jr. Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Zedler

Zerwas

Nevárez

Otto

Oliveira

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

								н.к.	NO.	1686
						Speaker of the House				
I	certify	that	H.R. No.	1686	was	adopted	by the	House	on	April
8, 2015,	by a non	-reco	rd vote.							
						Chief	Clerk	of the	Hou	se