H.R. No. 1705

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The year 2016 marks the 50th anniversary of the 2 dramatic triumph by the Texas Western College men's basketball team 3 in the final game of the NCAA tournament, and this milestone offers 4 a welcome opportunity to reflect on the squad's historic national 5 championship; and

6 WHEREAS, The Miners basketball team from Texas Western 7 College, now The University of Texas at El Paso, not only thrilled 8 its many fans by claiming the title in 1966, it also achieved a 9 major breakthrough that helped usher in an era of greater equality 10 in sports; and

11 WHEREAS, Though the civil rights movement in the United 12 States had achieved a number of important goals by the mid-1960s, racial discrimination and segregation still existed in many facets 13 14 of American life, including collegiate athletics; that became starkly clear on March 19, 1966, in College Park, Maryland, when the 15 16 Miners matched up against the University of Kentucky in the NCAA final; in that game, Texas Western became the first program to start 17 five African American players in a national championship game; 18 Kentucky, on the other hand, had a roster composed entirely of white 19 players, and its coach, Adolph Rupp, was opposed to the racial 20 21 integration of his team; and

WHEREAS, Led by head coach Don Haskins, Texas Western took an early lead on its opponent and never looked back, claiming the NCAA title in a 72-65 victory; in so doing, the Miners shattered the myth

1

H.R. No. 1705

1 that a multiracial team could not reach the pinnacle of success on 2 the court; moreover, they helped open the door to new opportunities 3 for African American players throughout the nation, and their 4 accomplishment would later be depicted in *Glory Road*, the book 5 Coach Haskins wrote about that unforgettable season, as well a film 6 adaptation of his memoir; and

7 WHEREAS, The talented and determined players who made up the 8 1966 Texas Western squad included Jerry Armstrong, Orsten Artis, 9 Louis Baudoin, Willie Cager, Harry Flournoy, Bobby Joe Hill, David 10 Lattin, Dick Myers, David Palacio, Togo Railey, Nevil Shed, and 11 Willie Worsley; and

WHEREAS, The 1966 Texas Western basketball team played an integral role in promoting the desegregation of college sports while also becoming the only Texas team to date to win the NCAA title in men's basketball, and that special moment in Lone Star sports history is indeed deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 19 Legislature hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Texas 20 Western College basketball team's victory in the NCAA national 21 championship game; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for The University of Texas at El Paso as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Márquez Pickett Moody González Blanco

2

H.R. No. 1705

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1705 was adopted by the House on April 23, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House