RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, For 75 years, Stonewall Jackson Elementary in the
- 2 Dallas Independent School District has provided a quality education
- 3 to local children; and
- WHEREAS, The school opened its doors on September 12, 1939,
- 5 and the original building on Mockingbird Lane is now an East Dallas
- 6 landmark; since 1968, it has served as an elementary campus for the
- 7 Dallas Regional Day School for the Deaf, and it welcomes
- 8 hearing-impaired students through the fifth grade, who are offered
- 9 a variety of instructional approaches from full inclusion to
- 10 self-contained classes with a low student-teacher ratio; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Over the years, Stonewall Jackson Elementary has
- 12 enjoyed an outstanding level of parental involvement, and it has
- 13 established a tradition of academic excellence and socioeconomic
- 14 diversity; it earned the prestigious National Blue Ribbon School
- 15 designation, and it has received the Governor's Certificate for
- 16 Outstanding Performance and many other accolades; and
- 17 WHEREAS, The school is enriched by the blending of cultures
- 18 represented in its student population, which is 55 percent Anglo,
- 19 28 percent Hispanic, 9 percent African American, and 4 percent
- 20 hearing impaired; sign language interpreters assist in all
- 21 inclusive settings, including extracurricular activities; and
- 22 WHEREAS, The unique learning environment at Stonewall
- 23 Jackson Elementary is a source of great community pride, and it is
- 24 indeed a pleasure to recognize this noteworthy institution as it

H.R. No. 1709

- 1 celebrates a significant milestone in its long history; now,
- 2 therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby commemorate the 75th anniversary of Stonewall
- 5 Jackson Elementary School and extend to its faculty, students, and
- 6 staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

Meyer

H.R. No. 1709

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Dale Leach Spitzer Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Farrar Vo Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 1709
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1709 was	s adopted by the House on April
17, 2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House