RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Robin Smith is retiring as presiding 2 judge of the Midland Municipal Court on April 15, 2015, after more

3 than three decades of dedicated public service; and

4 WHEREAS, A graduate of the Texas Tech University School of

5 Law, Robin Smith began his legal career in 1982, when he became an

assistant city attorney in Midland; he established his own practice

7 the following year but rejoined the Midland Municipal Court as the

8 presiding judge in November 1984; and

6

14

9 WHEREAS, During his 31 years on the bench, Judge Smith has

10 played a key role in a number of important initiatives, including

11 the construction of a new court building and the establishment of

12 Teen Court, an alternative sentencing tool for young offenders;

13 under his guidance, the Midland Municipal Court has become a

statewide model for city courts in its operation as well as in its

15 use of video surveillance and other technological innovations; and

16 WHEREAS, Judge Smith has contributed to his professional

17 community as chair of the State Bar of Texas Municipal Judges

18 Section, as president of the Texas Municipal Courts Association,

19 and as chair of the American Bar Association National Conference of

20 Specialized Court Judges; he is also a fellow of the Texas Bar and

21 has taught at National Judicial College for 15 years; furthermore,

22 he has held leadership positions with the Texas Education Agency

23 Driving Safety School Commission and on the Impaired Driving

24 Assessment Team in five states; and

H.R. No. 1710

- 1 WHEREAS, Over the years, Judge Smith has received numerous
- 2 honors, including a Judge of the Year award from the Texas Municipal
- 3 Courts Association, an Outstanding Jurist Award from the State Bar
- 4 of Texas Municipal Judges Section, and an Education Award from the
- 5 American Bar Association National Conference of Specialized Court
- 6 Judges; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Judge Robin Smith has upheld the highest standards
- 8 of his profession throughout his tenure, and he may indeed reflect
- 9 with pride on his outstanding record of achievement; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate Judge Robin Smith on his retirement
- 13 from the Midland Municipal Court and extend to him sincere best
- 14 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for Judge Smith as an expression of high regard by the
- 17 Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

H.R. No. 1710

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Farrar Vo Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

											H.R.	No.	1710
								Speaker of the House					
	I	certify	that :	H.R. 1	No.	1710	was	adopted	by	the	House	on	April
6,	2015,	by a nor	-reco	rd vot	æ.								

Chief Clerk of the House