H.R. No. 1711

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of Garland are gathering on April 11,
- 2 2015, for the dedication of an Official Texas Historical Marker
- 3 recognizing the Travis College Hill Addition; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Officially platted by the Interurban Land Company on
- 5 January 3, 1913, the Travis College Hill Addition encompasses a
- 6 two-block area along South 11th Street between Avenues B and D; the
- 7 area was previously designated as Garland's first historic district
- 8 by the city council in May 2014; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Over the course of the past century, the Travis
- 10 College Hill Addition has been home to some of the city's most
- 11 prominent civic, political, and religious leaders, including three
- 12 Garland mayors and five city council members; the Republican Party
- 13 gained its first foothold in the formerly Democratic city on South
- 14 11th Street, where several early Republicans lived; this group
- 15 included Dixie Crossman, who founded the Garland Republican Women's
- 16 Club in 1955, as well as Mable Wheeler, a "Bush Belle" who served as
- 17 a party precinct chair, as president of the GRWC, and as a National
- 18 Federation of Republican Women convention delegate; furthermore,
- 19 Charles and Winifred Stokes held numerous events for GOP
- 20 politicians such as George H. W. Bush and George W. Bush in their
- 21 home on 11th Street; and
- 22 WHEREAS, In addition to its political significance, the
- 23 neighborhood features the recently relocated Pace House; built at
- 24 the turn of the century, this Queen Anne style dwelling was donated

H.R. No. 1711

- 1 to the city in 1985; though it served as an important community
- 2 event center for many years, downtown development caused the city
- 3 to donate the structure to local residents Louis and Kay Moore in
- 4 2014; the house was then moved to the Travis College Hill Addition,
- 5 where it now shares its street with five other historic homes that
- 6 date from 1915-1918; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Recognition by the Texas Historical Commission is a
- 8 testament to the importance of this notable neighborhood, and the
- 9 placement of a marker in its honor will help future visitors to
- 10 better appreciate the rich heritage of the Garland community; now,
- 11 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby commemorate the dedication of an Official Texas
- 14 Historical Marker for the Travis College Hill Addition and extend
- 15 to all the neighborhood's residents sincere best wishes for the
- 16 future.

Button Burkett

H.R. No. 1711

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

				н.к.	NO.	1/11
		Speaker of the House				
I certify that H.R. No. 1711	was	adopted	by th	ie House	on	April
7, 2015, by a non-record vote.						
		Chief	Clerl	k of the	Hou	ıse