RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Child Protection Day is taking place at the State 2 Capitol on April 1, 2015, and this observance provides a fitting opportunity to recognize The Children's Shelter of San Antonio and 3 the service that it has provided to young Texans in need; and 4 WHEREAS, Since 1901, The Children's Shelter has offered a 5 safe harbor for children throughout San Antonio and Bexar County 6 7 who have suffered abuse, neglect, and abandonment; this not-for-profit agency operates a 66-bed emergency shelter where 8 children can receive around-the-clock medical and psychological 9 care, and its 36-bed residential treatment center houses youth who 10 11 have experienced more serious emotional trauma; all resources are 12 available at no cost, and its research-based intervention programs are adapted to the best interests of young victims; and 13 14 WHEREAS, The staff of The Children's Shelter also coordinates foster and adoptive family services, which include placing children 15 16 in temporary foster homes and assisting couples and individuals who want to adopt; in addition, the agency works to support parents in 17 building healthier relationships with their children and offers 18 counseling for parents who have a son or daughter with special 19 20 needs; and 21 WHEREAS, Looking to the future, The Children's Shelter is set 22 to open a new outpatient facility, the Harvey E. Najim Children's 23 Hope Center, where clients can access mental health services; the

vision of the center is to emphasize a holistic approach to

24

H.R. No. 1715

- 1 treatment and to address the root causes of abuse, with the goal of
- 2 ultimately breaking the cycle of violence for more families; and
- 3 WHEREAS, For well over a century, the men and women of The
- 4 Children's Shelter have demonstrated a profound commitment to
- 5 protecting and caring for young victims of maltreatment and helping
- 6 them move on to safe and loving homes, and these efforts have made a
- 7 positive difference in the lives of untold numbers of children and
- 8 their families; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby honor The Children's Shelter and commend all
- 11 those associated with the agency for their dedicated efforts to
- 12 transform lives, restore innocence, and strengthen families; and,
- 13 be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 15 prepared for The Children's Shelter as an expression of high regard
- 16 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Martinez Fischer

H.R. No. 1715

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Farrar Vo Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

					H.R.	No.	1715
		Spe	akei	r of	the H	ouse	9
I certify that H.R. No. 1715 v	was	adopted	by	the	House	on	April
5, by a non-record vote.							

Chief Clerk of the House

1, 2015, by a non-record vote.