By: White of Tyler H.R. No. 1723

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A select group of competitors from the girls' high 2 school basketball teams in Polk County were honored for their

3 exceptional efforts during the 2014-2015 season by being included

4 in the 29-1A All-District awards selections; and

5 WHEREAS, Demonstrating commendable skill on the court, six

6 Polk County players and one coach were recognized with superlative

7 accolades; Tyanna Barlow, a senior at Leggett High School, and

8 Kristian James, a junior at Goodrich High School, were named

9 Co-Most Valuable Players; Goodrich freshman Jamariyaa Harrell was

10 chosen Newcomer of the Year, while Leggett senior Briunna Criswell

11 was selected the Offensive Player of the Year; in addition, Kaycee

12 Mitchell, a senior from Leggett, and Jada Henderson, a freshman

13 from Goodrich, were named Defensive Players of the Year, and Ursula

14 Hill was named Coach of the Year for her work with the Goodrich

15 Hornets; and

WHEREAS, In recognition of their outstanding performances,

17 Goodrich sophomores Denedra Taylor and Ashley Pierce, Leggett

18 junior Olivia Battise, and Leggett freshman Keyera Koroma were

19 named to the All-District First Team; Rosalind Harrell, a senior

20 from Goodrich, Karen Andrade, a junior from Goodrich, and Ashley

21 Collins, a senior from Leggett, were named to the All-District

22 Second Team; and

23 WHEREAS, The All-District awards provide fitting

24 acknowledgement of the talent, hard work, and commitment to

H.R. No. 1723

- 1 excellence demonstrated by these exemplary individuals, and they
- 2 may take justifiable pride in their achievements; now, therefore,
- 3 be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate the All-District honorees from
- 6 Polk County and extend to them best wishes for continued success in
- 7 all their endeavors; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the award winners as an expression of high regard by
- 10 the Texas House of Representatives.