RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The girls' basketball team of Sunnyvale High School 2 reached the pinnacle of success by capturing the University Interscholastic League 3A state championship on March 7, 2015, with 3 a win in the title game at the Alamodome in San Antonio; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Finishing with a record of 37 wins and just 2 defeats, the Lady Raiders went undefeated in district play and 6 compiled an impressive 34-game winning streak; Sunnyvale began the 7 postseason with dominating double-digit victories over Peaster, 8 Paradise, Brock, and Winnsboro High Schools to advance to the 9

11 School by a score of 68-55 to earn the school's debut appearance in

regional finals; there, the team triumphed over Alba-Golden High

12 the state tournament; and

10

WHEREAS, Sunnyvale deployed an aggressive defense to overwhelm Rockdale High School in the semifinals, taking an early lead and cruising to a 71-27 win to clinch a spot in the championship game; the Lady Raiders proved up to the task once more in the 3A final against Shallowater High School, as they went on a blistering offensive run in the third quarter to secure a 52-37 victory and Sunnyvale High's first basketball state crown; and

WHEREAS, Senior guard Grace Goodhart was named the title game
Most Valuable Player after scoring 13 points and hauling in 4
rebounds, while teammate Karah Sicurella added 12 points to join
Ms. Goodhart as an All-Tournament honoree; excelling with a true
team effort, the Lady Raiders also received significant

H.R. No. 1728

- 1 contributions throughout the season from the other members of the
- 2 roster: Ivy Alexander, Leslie Berry, Gabrielle Allen, Bria Johnson,
- 3 Landry Westmoreland, Jordan Griffin, Claire Knight, Lori McDermett,
- 4 Madison D'Elia, and Kinsley Troutman; and
- 5 WHEREAS, These dedicated athletes were ably guided by head
- 6 coach Jill McDill and assistant coaches Casey Reeves and Autumn
- 7 Softley; additional support was provided by managers Elizabeth Ann
- 8 Beaty, Kayla Rabb, and Karlee Williams, athletic trainer Chris
- 9 Wangler, and student trainer Jim Threet; and
- 10 WHEREAS, A state title can only be achieved through a
- 11 combination of talent and hard work, and all those involved in
- 12 Sunnyvale High School's championship effort may take justifiable
- 13 pride in a job well done; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby congratulate the Sunnyvale High School girls'
- 16 basketball team on winning the UIL 3A state championship and extend
- 17 to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for
- 18 continued success; and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 21 House of Representatives.

Burkett

H.R. No. 1728

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Parker Alonzo Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Raymond Bernal Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Miller of Comal Farney VanDeaver Miller of Fort Bend Villalba Farrar Minjarez Vo Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Morrison Frank Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Workman Murphy Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı

Nevárez

Oliveira

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1728
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1728 v	was adopted by the House on May 6,
2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House