H.R. No. 1753

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is joining with
- 2 the Texas Association of Counties in recognizing April 15, 2015, as
- 3 County Government Day at the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, The event is part of the April 2015 observance of
- 5 National County Government Week sponsored by the National
- 6 Association of Counties to provide citizens with an opportunity to
- 7 learn more about county governments; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The oldest form of local government in the United
- 9 States, county government addresses many crucial issues; major
- 10 responsibilities include building and maintaining roads,
- 11 recreational facilities, and county airports, constructing and
- 12 operating jails, operating the judicial system, maintaining public
- 13 records, collecting property taxes, issuing vehicle registration
- 14 and transfers, and registering voters; additionally, counties
- 15 conduct elections and provide law enforcement and health and social
- 16 services; and
- 17 WHEREAS, There are 254 counties in Texas, and the dedicated
- 18 individuals who serve our counties not only work diligently to meet
- 19 the needs of residents without placing an undue burden on taxpayers
- 20 but also commit themselves to finding solutions to problems that
- 21 will benefit the Lone Star State; and
- 22 WHEREAS, County officials and their representative
- 23 organization, the Texas Association of Counties, truly merit
- 24 special commendation for their countless contributions in behalf of

H.R. No. 1753

- 1 all Texans; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby honor the state's county officials and employees
- 4 for their service and welcome members of the Texas Association of
- 5 Counties to the State Capitol on the occasion of County Government
- 6 Day.

Coleman

## H.R. No. 1753

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

		Spe	ake	r of	the	Но	use	è
was	adop	ted	by	the	Hous	se	on	April

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 1753

I certify that H.R. No. 1753

15, 2015, by a non-record vote.