H.R. No. 1754

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Two students from McGregor High School were selected 2 as members of the 2015 Texas All-State Band by the Association of

3 Texas Small School Bands; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by the ATSSB and the Texas Music Educators

5 Association, the All-State Band program brings together more than

60,000 young people from across the state every year to compete for

7 a chair in one of 15 All-State bands, orchestras, and choirs; those

8 who are chosen for one of the ensembles are among the top one

9 percent of high school musicians in the Lone Star State and are

10 invited to attend the annual TMEA convention in San Antonio, where

11 they participate in three days of intense rehearsals and perform a

12 concert under the direction of a nationally recognized conductor;

13 and

6

WHEREAS, Those students named as 2015 All-State Band members

15 from McGregor High School are senior contrabass clarinetist

16 Jonathan Lewis, who was selected for the symphonic band, and

17 sophomore percussionist Zach Zajicek, who was chosen for the

18 concert band; guided by director Tim Grace, these instrumentalists

19 demonstrated exceptional talent and technical facility throughout

20 the audition process; and

21 WHEREAS, The hard work and ability of these gifted young

22 Texans have placed them among the state's elite high school

23 musicians, and they may indeed take great pride in their

24 outstanding achievement; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1754

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Jonathan Lewis and Zach Zajicek on
- 3 their selection as 2015 Texas All-State Band members and extend to
- them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Lewis and Mr. Zajicek as an expression of high
- 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 1754

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1754 was adopted by the House on May 7, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House