H.R. No. 1776

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Brazoria County Head Start Early Learning School
System has met the needs of low-income children and their families
for four decades; and

WHEREAS, A comprehensive program for children through the age 4 5 of five, Brazoria County Head Start was established in 1975 by its sponsoring agency, the Child Development Council of Brazoria 6 7 County; it operates centers in seven cities, and all are accredited by the National Association for the Education of Young Children; 8 the staff of more than 90 is guided by Evelyn Wright Moore, 9 president and chief executive officer for the Child Development 10 11 Council; in addition, the program closely involves parents in the 12 education of their sons and daughters, and many qualified parents have been hired as staff; and 13

WHEREAS, To ensure that children are ready to learn, the program offers nutrition, health, mental health, and special needs services, sometimes in partnership with local agencies; comprehensive services available to families directly or by referral include job training, crisis intervention, and adult, parenting, and health education; and

20 WHEREAS, Since its inception, Brazoria County Head Start has 21 taken on the important task of preparing children for the 22 challenges and opportunities that school will offer, and in so 23 doing, it has made a positive difference in the lives of countless 24 area Texans; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1776

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor the Brazoria County Head Start Early 3 Learning School System for its vital contributions and extend to 4 the staff and administration sincere best wishes for continued 5 success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Brazoria County Head Start as an expression of high 8 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 1776

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1776 was adopted by the House on May 7, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House