H.R. No. 1777

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Scott Smith, the director of Lone Star Executive 2 Airport in Conroe, has been named the 2015 Reliever Airport Manager 3 of the Year by the aviation division of the Texas Department of 4 Transportation; and

5 WHEREAS, Lone Star Executive Airport has been designated by 6 the Federal Aviation Administration as a reliever airport for 7 George Bush Intercontinental Airport, and it is responsible for 8 more than 360 jobs and 21,000 visitors each year, contributing an 9 estimated \$33 million to the local economy; and

WHEREAS, Since taking over as the airport's director in 2007, 10 11 Mr. Smith has overseen the expansion of its infrastructure and 12 services, including a new \$2.4 million customs facility that will allow international flights to use the airport, a runway extension 13 14 and a new taxiway, a significant increase in hangar space and fuel sales, and a new traffic control tower; in addition, he played a 15 vital role in the opening of the airport's third fixed-base 16 operation, a corporate and general aviation facility that includes 17 two 40,000-square-foot hangars, a three-story, 45,000-square-foot 18 building, and a new fuel service; and 19

WHEREAS, Mr. Smith earned his bachelor's degree in airport management from Metropolitan State University and his master's degree in public administration from California State University, Northridge; from 1991 to 1999, he was the director of the Aspen/Pitkin County Airport in Colorado, and from 1999 to 2005, he

1

H.R. No. 1777

served as director of airports for Ventura County, California;
after moving to Houston in 2005, he worked for George Bush
Intercontinental Airport before becoming the director at Lone Star;
and

5 WHEREAS, A leader in the aviation community, Mr. Smith is an 6 accredited airport executive and a member of the American 7 Association of Airport Executives and the National Business 8 Aviation Association, and he has been a member of the National 9 Airports Council board; in addition, he has taught meteorology for 10 the department of aviation at Lone Star College, and he regularly 11 hosts school groups for tours of the airport; and

WHEREAS, Scott Smith's receipt of this prestigious recognition is a testament to his outstanding record of service, and he may indeed take justifiable pride in his achievements as director of Lone Star Executive Airport; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 17 Legislature hereby congratulate Scott Smith for being named the 18 2015 Reliever Airport Manager of the Year by the aviation division 19 of the Texas Department of Transportation and extend to him sincere 20 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for Mr. Smith as an expression of high regard by the Texas 23 House of Representatives.

Metcalf

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1777

H.R. No. 1777

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1777 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House