H.R. No. 1782

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Public-spirited citizens from across the Lone Star
- 2 State are gathering in Austin on April 14, 2015, to advocate for
- 3 women and their families during Blue Ribbon Lobby Day at the
- 4 Capitol; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Led by organizers Diane Mosier, president of River
- 6 Oaks Area Democratic Women, Laura Allen, president of Texas
- 7 Democratic Women, and Tammie Hartgroves, past president of Texas
- 8 Democratic Women, and joined by concerned women and leaders from
- 9 around the state, Blue Ribbon Lobby Day was created to bring
- 10 attention to issues important to Texas women, including public
- 11 education, health care, and economic well-being; and
- 12 WHEREAS, During this day of action, Democratic women are
- 13 meeting with legislators to discuss the integral role that women
- 14 play in the state's economic success and the need for ensuring that
- 15 women have equal opportunities and that their rights are equally
- 16 protected in order that Texas' prosperity continue; and
- WHEREAS, Today is also Equal Pay Day, and women and men across
- 18 the nation are raising awareness of the wage gap that persists
- 19 despite passage of the Equal Pay Act 52 years ago; women in Texas,
- 20 on average, earn 77 percent of what the average Anglo male earns,
- 21 and the disparity is even greater for many women of color, with
- 22 African American women earning 59 percent and Latinas 44 percent;
- 23 Equal Pay Day highlights the need for policies that address the real
- 24 causes and consequences of wage inequality; and

H.R. No. 1782

- 1 WHEREAS, Blue Ribbon Day presents an opportunity to call
- 2 attention to the concerns of Texas women and their families and to
- 3 work to make a positive difference in the Lone Star State; now,
- 4 therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby recognize April 14, 2015, as Blue Ribbon Lobby
- 7 Day at the Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the advocates who
- 8 are visiting here today.

Farrar

H.R. No. 1782

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 1/82
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1782 was	s adopted by the House on April
14, 2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House