RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Collegiate and alumnae members of the Delta Sigma
- 2 Theta Sorority are gathering in Austin on April 7, 2015, to mark Red
- 3 and White Day, a day of advocacy and action, at the State Capitol;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was initiated in 1913
- 6 at Howard University in Washington, D.C.; the 22 original members
- 7 included four young women from Texas, Zephyr Chisom Carter, Jessie
- 8 McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, and Myra Davis Hemmings, all
- 9 committed to academic excellence and social change; members marched
- 10 in a women's suffrage parade soon after, and they incorporated as a
- 11 national organization in 1930; and
- WHEREAS, Since its founding, more than 200,000 women have
- 13 joined Delta Sigma Theta in the United States and several foreign
- 14 countries; the sorority encompasses about 1,000 chapters, with many
- 15 in the Lone Star State; participants work toward positive change in
- 16 their communities and advocate for economic development,
- 17 international awareness, physical and mental health, and improved
- 18 education; moreover, they mentor at-risk young women, conduct voter
- 19 awareness drives, host political forums, and help guide and inform
- 20 public policy; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Many members of the sorority have gone on to have
- 22 distinguished careers in public service, including Texas State
- 23 Representatives Ruth Jones McClendon and Toni Rose and
- 24 Congresswoman Barbara Jordan; and

H.R. No. 1822

- 1 WHEREAS, The women of Delta Sigma Theta have enriched the
- 2 State of Texas and the nation with their generosity and their wide
- 3 array of programs and services, and it is indeed a pleasure to
- 4 commend them for their noteworthy endeavors; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby recognize April 7, 2015, as Red and White Day at
- 7 the State Capitol and extend to all those involved with the Delta
- 8 Sigma Theta Sorority sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it
- 9 further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for the sorority as an expression of high regard by the
- 12 Texas House of Representatives.

Rose

H.R. No. 1822

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Bernal Reynolds Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

				н.к.	NO.	1822
		Speaker of the House				
	1000					
I certify that H.R. No.	1822 was	adopted	by the	House	on .	Aprıl
7, 2015, by a non-record vote.						
	_					

Chief Clerk of the House