H.R. No. 1827

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Andrews County Airport has been named the 2015
- 2 Airport of the Year by the aviation division of the Texas Department
- 3 of Transportation; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This well-deserved accolade recognizes the
- 5 expansion and diversification that have taken place at the airport
- 6 over the past five years in order to accommodate the increased
- 7 activity resulting from the growth of the oil and gas industry in
- 8 the Permian Basin; these improvements were carried out under the
- 9 leadership of Andrews County Judge Richard Dolenger and airport
- 10 manager Robert Vargas and with the support of the City of Andrews,
- 11 the commissioners court, the Andrews Chamber of Commerce, and the
- 12 Andrews Economic Development Corporation; and
- 13 WHEREAS, One important enhancement at the facility was the
- 14 construction of a new, \$1.2 million hangar, providing KCSI, a
- 15 pipeline inspection service, with facilities for seven private
- 16 planes, a maintenance shop, and office space; and
- WHEREAS, Local city and county governments also worked with
- 18 TxDOT to create a development plan for future growth of the airport
- 19 that took into consideration the new highway loop around the city
- 20 that was completed in 2014; funded by the county, this development
- 21 plan resulted in the update of the Airport Layout Drawing, which
- 22 will help guide future public and private development in the area;
- 23 and
- 24 WHEREAS, Another notable upgrade was the purchase of three

H.R. No. 1827

- 1 parcels of land from the county that will allow for further
- 2 expansion of the airport operations and give it the ability to
- 3 handle larger corporate aircraft; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Andrews County Airport plays an important role in
- 5 the regional transportation system and in the economic vitality of
- 6 the community, and the recent changes that have been implemented
- 7 will ensure the facility's continued viability for years to come;
- 8 now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby honor the Andrews County Airport on its
- 11 recognition as the 2015 Airport of the Year by the Texas Department
- 12 of Transportation aviation division and commend all who have
- 13 contributed to the airport's success for a job well done; and, be it
- 14 further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the airport as an expression of high esteem by the
- 17 Texas House of Representatives.

Landgraf

## H.R. No. 1827

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1827
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1827 was	adopted by the House on April
9, 2015, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House