H.R. No. 1850

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Through his dedicated civic leadership, Roy Edgar
- 2 Stroeher has contributed to the betterment of Fredericksburg and
- 3 Gillespie County in myriad ways; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Born and raised in Fredericksburg, Roy Stroeher has
- 5 given generously of his time and talents to numerous boards and
- 6 committees; he was a director of the Gillespie County Fair and
- 7 Festivals Association for more than 20 years and served as
- 8 president, and he has been named an honorary lifetime director; in
- 9 addition, he was a longtime member of the Fredericksburg Marktplatz
- 10 Redevelopment Commission, the Fredericksburg Chorale Board, and
- 11 the Wildlife Management Association; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Mr. Stroeher was elected to serve on the Hill
- 13 Country Underground Water Conservation District; he is a former
- 14 president of the board of Hill Country Memorial Hospital and serves
- on the board of its foundation, which named him a life director; for
- 16 over two decades, he served on the board of the Admiral Nimitz
- 17 Foundation as well, and in 2012, he was named director emeritus; he
- 18 has also shared his expertise on the board of University Savings
- 19 Association; and
- WHEREAS, Deeply committed to the safety of area residents,
- 21 Mr. Stroeher served with the Fredericksburg Volunteer Fire
- 22 Department for more than 58 years before his retirement in January
- 23 2010, and he served as both vice president and secretary; he is a
- 24 lifelong member of Holy Ghost Lutheran Church, and he has been a

H.R. No. 1850

- 1 member of the church council, choir, and usher team, as well as of
- 2 Lutheran Men in Mission; as a member of the Barnabas Ministry, he
- 3 visits residents of nursing homes; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This dynamic Texan was selected as Outstanding
- 5 Chamber Man of the Year by the Fredericksburg Chamber of Commerce
- 6 and as a Star of Texas by the Gillespie County Historical Society;
- 7 moreover, his numerous accolades include the Humanitarian Award
- 8 from the Order of the Sons of Hermann in the State of Texas; and
- 9 WHEREAS, A respected member of the business community,
- 10 Mr. Stroeher became his father's partner in the family petroleum
- 11 distribution business in 1952, and the company flourishes today as
- 12 two firms, Stroeher and Son and Stroeher and Olfers; and
- WHEREAS, The vitality of a community depends in large measure
- 14 on the vision and dedication of its leaders, and through his many
- 15 endeavors, Roy Stroeher has greatly benefited his fellow citizens;
- 16 now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby honor Roy Edgar Stroeher for his exemplary
- 19 contributions to Fredericksburg and Gillespie County and extend to
- 20 him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Mr. Stroeher as an expression of high regard by the
- 23 Texas House of Representatives.

Miller of Comal

H.R. No. 1850

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 1850
S	peaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1850 was adopted	d by the House on April
22, 2015, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House