H.R. No. 1851

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The College Republicans at Texas is marking a
 significant milestone in its history with the celebration of its
 65th anniversary in 2015; and

WHEREAS, One of the oldest political organizations on The University of Texas at Austin campus, the group was established on January 1, 1950, to engage and educate students while advancing the principles of the Republican Party; it is recognized as a federated chapter of the Texas College Republicans and the College Republican National Committee; and

10 WHEREAS, Members attend weekly meetings to connect with 11 public officials and increase their knowledge of important issues 12 of the day; in recent years, the group has been fortunate to host 13 such speakers as State Comptroller Susan Combs, Lieutenant Governor 14 David Dewhurst, and Karl Rove; and

WHEREAS, Led by Amy Nabozny and Andrew Jackson during the 2014-2015 school year, the organization is active in political campaigns, lobbying, party building, and community activism, and it has helped connect members to meaningful internship opportunities; a number of alumni have gone on to successful careers in government and politics, including as consultants, campaign managers, and elected officials; and

22 WHEREAS, For well over half a century, the College 23 Republicans at Texas has served as a platform for the expression of 24 conservative views at UT and as a vehicle through which young Texans

1

1 can develop their potential as the Republican leaders of tomorrow; 2 now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 4 Legislature hereby honor the College Republicans at Texas on the 5 65th anniversary of its founding and commend the members for their 6 civic engagement; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Gonzales

H.R. No. 1851

H.R. No. 1851

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1851 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House