H.R. No. 1859

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The talented and hardworking staff of the *Corpus* 2 *Christi Caller-Times* was recognized with 26 awards at the Texas 3 Associated Press Managing Editors convention held in Waco on March 4 27-29, 2015; and

5 WHEREAS, Every year, TAPME and the Headliners Foundation of 6 Texas join together to recognize outstanding journalism from the 7 Lone Star State's daily newspapers; the *Caller-Times* competed in 8 the Class AAA category, for newspapers with a Sunday circulation 9 ranging from 30,000 to nearly 125,000; and

WHEREAS, Former Caller-Times reporter Mark Collette earned 10 11 top honors in the Freedom of Information category, with judges 12 citing the excellence of his series covering a former child therapist under investigation for sexual misconduct; receiving an 13 14 honorable mention for team effort were Mr. Collette and his colleagues Mike Baird, Rachel Denny Clow, Kirsten Crow, Erica 15 16 Quiroz, Chris Ramirez, Nadia Tamez-Robledo, Matt Woolbright, Todd Yates, and Michael Zamora; and 17

WHEREAS, The publication as a whole made an impressive showing as well in the field for Newspaper of the Year, ultimately being designated as runner-up; and

21 WHEREAS, Newspapers serve as a vital resource for a 22 well-informed citizenry, and through their important work, the 23 dedicated journalists of the *Caller-Times* are making invaluable 24 contributions to the residents of their community; now, therefore,

1

H.R. No. 1859

1 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the *Corpus Christi Caller-Times* on its success at the 2015 Texas Associated Press Managing Editors convention and extend to the paper and its award-winning staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the publication as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 1859

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1859 was adopted by the House on May 7, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House