## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Doctors of osteopathic medicine (DOs) in Texas have
- 2 contributed greatly to the health care system in the Lone Star
- 3 State; and
- WHEREAS, Trained to consider the health of the whole person,
- 5 DOs are fully licensed to prescribe medicine and to practice in all
- 6 medical specialties, including surgery; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine at the
- 8 University of North Texas Health Science Center trains osteopathic
- 9 physicians to promote overall good health, not just the treatment
- 10 of disease; the school's innovative applications-based curriculum
- 11 highlights cutting-edge research, dedication to primary care,
- 12 promotion of healthy aging, and the practice of rural medicine, and
- 13 its students excel at both academic and clinical studies; and
- WHEREAS, Osteopathic physicians are ably represented across
- 15 the state by the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association, which
- 16 advances the philosophy and principles of osteopathic medicine; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Doctors of osteopathic medicine play an essential
- 18 role in the health care of countless Texans, and their contribution
- 19 to the welfare and prosperity of the state is truly deserving of
- 20 special recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby recognize April 19 through 25, 2015, as
- 23 Osteopathic Medicine Week.

Sheffield

## H.R. No. 1868

González Paddie Straus Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Gutierrez Alvarado Peña Harless Phelan Anchia Anderson of Dallas Hernandez Phillips Anderson of McLennan Herrero Pickett Howard Price Ashby Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Bernal Hunter Reynolds Blanco Isaac Riddle Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Rodriguez of Travis Kacal Burkett Keffer Romero, Jr. Burns Keough Rose King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor Burrows Sanford Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Capriglione King of Uvalde Schubert Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Sheffield Krause Kuempel Simmons Cook Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Smith Cyrier Laubenberg Smithee Dale Leach Spitzer Longoria Springer Darby Davis of Dallas Lozano Stephenson Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Martinez Dukes Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Faircloth Metcalf Fallon Meyer Miles VanDeaver Farias Miller of Comal Villalba Farney Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn Morrison White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Workman Murphy Galindo Murr Wray Naishtat Geren Wu Giddings Nevárez Zedler Goldman Oliveira

Otto

Gonzales

Zerwas

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1868 w	was adopted by the House on April
22, 2015, by a non-record vote.	
22, 2015, by a non-record vote.	

H.R. No. 1868

Chief Clerk of the House