H.R. No. 1882

By: Márquez

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Chief Gregory K. Allen of the El Paso Police
Department received the inaugural Excellence in Leadership Award
from the National Tactical Officers Association in 2013; and

WHEREAS, Chief Allen was honored at the 30th annual NTOA conference in Kansas City, Missouri, where he was recognized for helping the city of El Paso earn a reputation as one of the safest major cities in the country; and

WHEREAS, A native of El Paso, Greg Allen graduated from 8 9 Bellaire High School and later earned a bachelor's degree in sociology from The University of Texas at El Paso; he joined the 10 11 EPPD in 1978 as a patrol officer, and over the course of a notable 12 tenure with the department that has spanned more than three and a half decades, he has served as commander of the dignitary 13 protection team, as deputy chief overseeing Region 1, and as a 14 member of the gang, SWAT, tactical, and auto theft task force units; 15 16 and

WHEREAS, Chief Allen's dedication, professionalism, and commitment to protecting the safety and welfare of the people of El Paso have earned him the respect and admiration of his fellow officers, and he may indeed take pride in this prestigious accolade; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate El Paso Police Chief Greg Allen on his receipt of the 2013 Excellence in Leadership Award from the

1

H.R. No. 1882 1 National Tactical Officers Association and extend to him sincere 2 best wishes for continued success in his important work; and, be it 3 further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for Chief Allen as an expression of high regard by the 6 Texas House of Representatives.