H.R. No. 1901

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Testicular Cancer Foundation is doing an
- 2 exceptional job of raising awareness of testicular cancer and
- 3 emphasizing the importance of early and regular screenings for the
- 4 disease; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Testicular cancer is most common in young or
- 6 middle-aged men between the ages of 15 and 35; each year, nearly
- 7 9,000 new cases occur in the United States, and approximately 380
- 8 men in the United States die from the disease; and
- 9 WHEREAS, When the presence of testicular cancer is restricted
- 10 to the testicle, a single surgical procedure can usually treat the
- 11 disease fully, but if the cancer has spread to additional tissue,
- 12 patients often face extensive treatments including chemotherapy
- 13 and radiation; like many diseases, early detection can be key to a
- 14 successful outcome; and
- WHEREAS, Since 2009, the Testicular Cancer Foundation has
- 16 provided education and support to young men and has helped raise
- 17 awareness of the disease by stressing the need for regular
- 18 self-examinations; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The foundation has gained attention for creating
- 20 shower cards that depict clear and simple steps for a self-check
- 21 examination, and between 2012 and 2014, more than 40,000
- 22 potentially lifesaving cards were distributed; and
- 23 WHEREAS, The Testicular Cancer Foundation is committed to
- 24 providing accurate, factual, and encouraging information about

H.R. No. 1901

- 1 testicular cancer, and all those who work to promote its mission are
- 2 indeed deserving of recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby commend the staff and leadership of the
- 5 Testicular Cancer Foundation and recognize April 2015 as Testicular
- 6 Cancer Month in Texas; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the foundation as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Naishtat

## H.R. No. 1901

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Dale Leach Spitzer Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1901
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1901 was 13, 2015, by a non-record vote.	s adopted by the House on April
	Chief Clerk of the House