H.R. No. 1907

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, April 13, 2015, is Texas Female Judges Day at the

2 State Capitol, and this occasion provides a fitting opportunity to

3 celebrate the achievements of female judges, past and present, who

4 have served in the State of Texas; and

5 WHEREAS, Women judges in Texas have a storied history dating

6 back to 1925, when Governor Pat Neff appointed three women,

7 Hortense Sparks Ward, Hattie Leah Henenberg, and Ruth Virginia

8 Brazzil, to preside as Texas Supreme Court justices over a case from

9 which all of the current justices on the court had recused

10 themselves; and

11 WHEREAS, The case involved a fraternal organization that had

12 so many prominent members that no qualified male judges or

attorneys could be found to take their place who did not have a

14 conflict of interest; the women appointed to hear the matter were

15 all well-established attorneys, and those pioneering jurists

16 formed the first court in the nation composed entirely of women; and

17 WHEREAS, The first woman to hold a permanent position on a

18 Texas bench was Sarah Tilghman Hughes, a highly esteemed state

19 representative who was named to the 14th District Court in Dallas by

20 Governor James Allred in 1935; Judge Hughes went on to win election

21 to the seat for a full term and was returned to office for six

22 additional terms; in 1961, she earned further renown by becoming

23 the first woman to be sworn in as a federal district judge in Texas;

24 and

13

H.R. No. 1907

- 1 WHEREAS, Since that time, numerous women have served with
- 2 distinction on the Supreme Court of Texas and the Court of Criminal
- 3 Appeals; and
- WHEREAS, Today, more than 1,000 women preside over courts
- 5 throughout the state; they exemplify the highest standards of
- 6 judicial conduct, and their dedication to public service is truly
- 7 an inspiration to us all; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby recognize April 13, 2015, as Texas Female Judges
- 10 Day at the State Capitol and commend the women judges of Texas for
- 11 their immeasurable contributions to the Lone Star State.

Thompson of Harris

H.R. No. 1907

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Dale Leach Spitzer Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Farrar Vo Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1907
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1907 was 13, 2015, by a non-record vote.	as adopted by the House on April
	Chief Clerk of the House