H.R. No. 1920

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Floyd County Friends Unity Center is holding its
 20th annual gala on April 18, 2015; and

3 WHEREAS, In 1995, the late Billy Don Colston and a number of 4 other engaged citizens gathered at the Lighthouse Electric 5 Cooperative to discuss building a multipurpose center in the area; 6 the group subsequently founded Floyd County Friends and elected 7 Nick Long as the organization's first president; and

WHEREAS, In order to finance the facility's construction, 8 Floyd County Friends held its first annual gala in the Lockney 9 School Cafeteria in 1996; for the next five years, the organization 10 11 hosted numerous fund-raisers and solicited private donations and 12 matching grants until the Floyd County Friends Unity Center could open its doors debt-free in January of 2000; over the years, the 13 14 gala has become the biggest social event of the season for area residents, and the money it raises now goes toward keeping the 15 16 center affordable and accessible to the general public; and

WHEREAS, Under the able leadership of manager Jon LaBaume, the Unity Center serves approximately 10,000 visitors each year; the center offers a variety of agricultural and family events, including the Floyd County Stock Show, as well as continuing education programs and 4-H meetings; and

22 WHEREAS, For two decades, the members of Floyd County Friends 23 have devoted their time and energy to providing area residents with 24 a welcoming venue for community events, and these dedicated

1

H.R. No. 1920 1 individuals are indeed deserving of recognition for their 2 successful efforts; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 4 Legislature hereby commemorate the 20th annual Floyd County Friends 5 Unity Center gala and extend to its organizers and attendees 6 sincere best wishes for a memorable event; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Floyd County Friends as an expression of high regard by
the Texas House of Representatives.

Springer

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

## H.R. No. 1920

H.R. No. 1920

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1920 was adopted by the House on April 13, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House