H.R. No. 1922

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Cynthia Rivera Lueck has distinguished herself 2 throughout an outstanding career in the fields of education and 3 public service, and she is indeed deserving of special recognition 4 for her many accomplishments; and

5 WHEREAS, Mrs. Lueck grew up in Laredo, where her parents, Rogelio and Nelly Rivera, helped to instill in her a desire to make 6 a positive impact on the world around her; she went on to graduate 7 as one of the top 20 members of her class at Raymond and Tirza Martin 8 High School, one year ahead of schedule; before leaving her 9 hometown, she gained valuable early experience while working on the 10 11 staff of State Representative Oscar Manuel Laurel Sr., who 12 encouraged her to become involved in state government; and

13 WHEREAS, Pursuing her studies in Austin, Mrs. Lueck earned 14 her bachelor's degree in education at The University of Texas in 1988, and she later completed her master's degree in leadership 15 from Texas State University in San Marcos in 2011; bringing 16 enthusiasm and dedication to each new role she took on, she accepted 17 positions with the Texas Department of Agriculture and with a 18 member of the Texas Legislature and gained further insight into 19 government and politics as well as fields like journalism and 20 21 broadcast media while honing her professional skills; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Lueck launched her second career as an educator more than 20 years ago, serving as a bilingual classroom teacher and working with English language learners (ELL) in the Austin

1

H.R. No. 1922

Independent School District from 1992 until 2004; since that time, she has benefited the Eanes Independent School District as a curriculum support specialist for ELL students and as a response to intervention (RTI) specialist for students with learning and behavioral needs; she has also excelled in leadership roles in her profession and is a published author; and

7 WHEREAS, In her endeavors as an educator, Mrs. Lueck is 8 inspired by these words of President Abraham Lincoln: "The philosophy of the school room in one generation will be the 9 10 philosophy of the government in the next"; taking this sentiment to heart, she has made it her goal to teach students, including boys 11 and girls from different cultures and communities, how to become 12 leaders and active participants in civic affairs so they too may one 13 14 day be agents for progress in today's global society; for her 15 exceptional efforts, she has been recognized with such well-deserved accolades as the Teacher of the Year Award at Harris 16 17 Elementary School, the International Women Educators Member in Print Award from the Texas Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma, and the 18 19 Eanes ISD EANESpiration Award; and

20 WHEREAS, Guided by a heartfelt passion for sharing her 21 knowledge and inspiring others, Cynthia Lueck is empowering young 22 people to reach their full potential, and she may take great pride 23 in the part she has played in helping her students build a strong 24 foundation for future success; now, therefore, be it

25 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 26 Legislature hereby honor Cynthia Rivera Lueck for her exemplary 27 career in education and public service and extend to her sincere

2

1 best wishes for continued happiness and fulfillment; and, be it
2 further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for Mrs. Lueck as an expression of high regard by the Texas 5 House of Representatives.

Israel

H.R. No. 1922

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1922

H.R. No. 1922

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1922 was adopted by the House on May 5, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House