H.R. No. 1941

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Williamson County are gathering
- 2 in Austin to celebrate Williamson County Day at the State Capitol on
- 3 April 30, 2015; and
- WHEREAS, Williamson County was established in 1848 and named
- 5 for Robert M. Williamson, a participant in the Battle of San Jacinto
- 6 and a prominent judge and legislator; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Among the fastest-growing counties in the nation,
- 8 with a population of more than 470,000, Williamson County is a
- 9 center for higher education; it is home to Southwestern University,
- 10 Texas State University Round Rock Campus, and Austin Community
- 11 College campuses; it also boasts the Texas A&M Health Science
- 12 Center and the Texas Life-Sciences Collaboration Center, which
- 13 draws emerging biotech, nanotech, and medical device companies to
- 14 the region; in 2013, it was ranked as the healthiest county in Texas
- 15 by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Georgetown, the county seat, has all the
- 17 conveniences of a modern urban center while preserving its
- 18 small-town charm; over 180 homes and buildings in the town are
- 19 listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and residents
- 20 and visitors alike delight in its picturesque downtown and its many
- 21 opportunities for recreation; Fortune magazine selected it as the
- 22 number two place in the nation to live and launch a small business,
- 23 and CNN Money magazine named it among the top 25 Best Places to
- 24 Retire; and

H.R. No. 1941

- 1 WHEREAS, Round Rock is the largest city in the county, with
- 2 approximately 110,000 residents; home to such major employers as
- 3 Dell, TECO-Westinghouse Motor Company, and Hospira, the city has
- 4 won numerous accolades in recent years, such as listing on
- 5 CNBC.com's Top 10 Perfect Suburbs and a CQ Press ranking as the
- 6 second safest city in Texas; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Other major Williamson County cities include Cedar
- 8 Park, which attracts new residents from around the world with its
- 9 860 acres of parkland and its fine restaurants and shops and has
- 10 been named by Family Circle magazine as one of the 10 Best Towns for
- 11 Families; Leander, which offers its residents a relaxed, Hill
- 12 Country lifestyle as well as easy access to the cultural and
- 13 recreational opportunities of the Austin area; and Taylor, which is
- 14 a rapidly growing, modern community where visitors and residents
- 15 enjoy such annual events as the Taylor Zest Fest, the Rattlesnake
- 16 Roundup, and the annual open rodeo; and
- WHEREAS, Blessed with a thriving economy and an exceptional
- 18 quality of life, Williamson County is justly celebrated for the
- 19 can-do spirit and civic engagement of its people, who are working
- 20 every day to create a bright and exciting future; now, therefore, be
- 21 it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize April 30, 2015, as Williamson County
- 24 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation
- 25 sincere best wishes for the future.

Farney Dale Gonzales

H.R. No. 1941

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Dale Leach Spitzer Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr

Wu Zedler

Zerwas

Naishtat

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Geren

Giddings

Goldman

Gonzales

	H.R. NO. 1941
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1941 was	s adopted by the House on April
30, 2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House