H.R. No. 1974

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. Cynthia M. Sorelle of McLennan Community
- 2 College has been named the 2015 College Theatre Educator of the Year
- 3 by the Texas Educational Theatre Association; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The College Theatre Educator of the Year award is
- 5 given annually to an outstanding theater teacher who has
- 6 demonstrated a strong commitment to helping students reach their
- 7 full potential both on and off the stage; a fitting recipient of
- 8 this notable honor, Dr. Sorelle serves as chair of the board of
- 9 directors for the Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas,
- 10 and she is an active member of the Association of Theatre in Higher
- 11 Education; moreover, she was previously honored by the TETA in
- 12 2000, when she received the organization's Founders Award for her
- 13 outstanding contributions to theater in the Lone Star State; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Sorelle is dedicated to providing young Texans
- 15 with the knowledge and skills they need to realize their dreams, and
- 16 her passion and determination are an inspiration to her students
- 17 and fellow educators alike; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Cynthia M. Sorelle on her
- 20 selection as the 2015 College Theatre Educator of the Year by the
- 21 Texas Educational Theatre Association and extend to her sincere
- 22 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for Dr. Sorelle as an expression of high regard by the

H.R. No. 1974

1 Texas House of Representatives.

Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 1974

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1974 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House