H.R. No. 1994

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Students, faculty, and staff of Texas State
- 2 Technical College are gathering in Austin on April 22, 2015, in
- 3 celebration of Texas State Technical College Day at the State
- 4 Capitol as well as in observance of the 50th anniversary of the
- 5 school's founding; and
- 6 WHEREAS, On this date in 1965, the 59th Texas Legislature
- 7 signed a bill into law to create a new technical-vocational
- 8 institute as a branch of Texas A&M University; originally called
- 9 the James Connally Technical Institute, it was established on the
- 10 James Connally Air Force Base in Waco; four of the institute's
- 11 original campuses were founded on former air force bases that were
- 12 closed following the end of hostilities in Korea; and
- WHEREAS, In 1969, the college became a stand-alone
- 14 institution by order of the legislature, and the first members of
- 15 the board of regents were appointed; to keep pace with demand,
- 16 extension centers were built across the state, and in 1991, these
- 17 centers were elevated to the status of two-year technical colleges
- 18 under the name Texas State Technical College; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Today, Texas State Technical College boasts 11
- 20 locations in Abilene, Breckenridge, Brownwood, Harlingen,
- 21 Ingleside, Marshall, Red Oak, Sweetwater, Waco, Fort Bend County,
- 22 and Williamson County; it offers 124 associate's degrees and 133
- 23 certification programs that are adapted to current industry needs,
- 24 and it ranks first in Texas in conferring associate's degrees in

- H.R. No. 1994
- 1 engineering fields, computer and information science and support
- 2 services, and precision production; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Each branch of TSTC is committed to excellence in
- 4 teaching, research, public service, and economic development, and
- 5 collectively, they have graduated over 97,500 students since the
- 6 college's inception half a century ago; TSTC further benefits from
- 7 more than 40 partnerships with other colleges and universities,
- 8 businesses, and school districts, making technical education
- 9 accessible to a wide population of Texans; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The institution is focused on providing students
- 11 with a route to a financially rewarding career; from 2010 to 2012,
- 12 the average first-year earnings of TSTC graduates rose by 60
- 13 percent; in addition, from 2010 to 2014, TSTC saw a 23 percent
- 14 increase in the number of awards won by students, and to date, TSTC
- 15 students have received more national SkillsUSA medals than all
- 16 other two- and four-year colleges in Texas combined; in 2013, TSTC
- 17 became the first college in the nation to adopt an
- 18 accountability-based funding model in which funds received by the
- 19 school are determined by student earnings and associated state tax
- 20 revenues; and
- 21 WHEREAS, By equipping them with leading-edge technical
- 22 skills and knowledge, Texas State Technical College is setting
- 23 numerous Texans on a course to lifelong success, and the
- 24 contributions of the school and its alumni are helping to keep the
- 25 Lone Star State at the forefront of industry and innovation; now,
- 26 therefore, be it
- 27 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

H.R. No. 1994

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize April 22, 2015, as Texas State
- 2 Technical College Day at the State Capitol and extend to the
- 3 visiting delegation sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and
- 4 informative stay in Austin; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Texas State Technical College as an expression of high
- 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Anderson of McLennan

## H.R. No. 1994

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1994
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1994 was 22, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on April
-	Chief Clerk of the House